NKD – neighbourhood stores for the whole family

NKD is the local value retailer among the clothing discounters and provides its customers with a wide product range of current seasonal fashion for the whole family, as well as home textiles and home accessories. This clothing discounter with around 8,000 employees is one of the leading clothing retailers in Central Europe.

NKD uses high-quality goods at attractive prices to predominantly target female customers aged between 30 and 64 who do the shopping for their families. With a number of brands, quickly alternating seasonal collections and brand star campaigns based on current trends, NKD stores provide their customers with a wide range of offers. For example, NKD has expanded its product range with categories such as teenage and sport fashion, as well as household hardware and home textiles. With its concept of attractive, flexible, medium-sized stores – retail premises are usually between 300 and 400 m2 – NKD has a visible presence as a local retailer in small and medium sized cities and shopping malls that are characterised by their favourable competitive locations and are heavily frequented by NKD customers.

The clothing discounter has been able to increase its sales in the last three years by an average of 7.5 per cent (CAGR 2013 to 2016) per year, which means that it has been growing faster than the market. In 2016, NKD generated sales of more than EUR 680 million.

NKD-Mode, in einer Filiale begutachtet eine Kundin die Ware
NKD-Mode, Lager in Bindeach aus der Luft fotografiert
NKD-Filiale in Bayreuth, Aussenaufnahme

The NKD Group has a total of around 1,800 stores, preferably in small and medium sized cities in Germany, but also in Austria, Italy, Slovenia and Croatia.

Since 2007, NKD customers from Germany, Austria and Italy have also been able to shop online around the clock – and pick up their orders at a nearby store using Click & Collect or have them delivered straight to their homes.

Link to online shop

NKD will continue its trajectory of sustainable, profitable growth in Germany and select European markets due to its positioning as a local value retailer with a full product range. It has a strong partner in the form of the financial investment company OpCapita, which specialises in retail, consumer goods and the leisure industry.

NKD – Der Nahversorger für die ganze Familie

NKD ist der Value Retailer und Nahversorger unter den Textildiscountern und bietet seinen Kunden ein breites Sortiment aus saisonal aktueller Mode für die ganze Familie, Heimtextilien und Wohn-Accessoires. Der Textildiscounter zählt mit rund 8.000 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern zu den führenden Unternehmen im Textileinzelhandel in Mitteleuropa.

NKD spricht mit qualitativ hochwertigen Waren zu attraktiven Preisen vor allem Kundinnen im Alter zwischen 30 und 64 Jahren an, die für ihre Familie einkaufen. Mit eigenen Marken, schnell wechselnden saisonalen Kollektionen und Aktionen mit Markenstars zu aktuellen Trends bieten die NKD-Filialen ihren Kunden ein breites Angebot. Beispielsweise wurde das Sortiment um Bereiche wie Mode für Teener und Sport sowie Hartwaren und Heimtextilien erweitert. Mit seinem Konzept attraktiver Filialen flexibler, mittlerer Größe – in der Regel sind die Geschäftsräume zwischen 300 und 400 Quadratmeter groß – ist NKD als Nahversorger in Innenstadtlagen und Einkaufszentren präsent, die sich durch eine günstige Wettbewerbslage auszeichnen und von den NKD-Kunden stark frequentiert werden.

NKD-Mode, in einer Filiale begutachtet eine Kundin die Ware
NKD-Mode, Lager in Bindeach aus der Luft fotografiert
NKD-Filiale in Bayreuth, Aussenaufnahme

Insgesamt hat die NKD-Gruppe rund 1.800 Filialen bevorzugt in zentraler Innenstadtlage in Deutschland, aber auch in Österreich, Italien, Slowenien und Kroatien.

Seit 2007 können NKD-Kunden aus Deutschland, Österreich und Italien zudem rund um die Uhr im Onlineshop einkaufen – und die Waren auf Wunsch entweder per Click&Collect in einer nahe gelegenen Filiale abholen oder sich direkt liefern lassen.

Zum Onlineshop

NKD wird durch die Positionierung als Nahversorger und Value Retailer mit einem Vollsortiment seinen nachhaltigen, profitablen Wachstumskurs in Deutschland und ausgewählten europäischen Märkten fortsetzen und hat in dem auf Handel-, Konsumgüter- und die Freizeitindustrie spezialisierten Finanzinvestor OpCapita einen starken Partner.